TimeSpan on the Y-Axis

Oct 20, 2013 at 7:23 AM
Hello,

I am a bit new to programming in C#, I started learning about it a few days ago to complete an idea for a program that will help display data I have been gathering for my work. So please forgive me if this is a rather silly question.

I am trying to get the units on the Y-Axis to work similarly to how the DateTime scale works on the X-Axis. However, the value of the units on Y are not dates, but they are TimeSpans. I want it to work in a similar way, IE when you are zoomed out it will display hours or days, and as you zoom in it will change to minutes etc.

So far I have it as:
                var datesDataSource = new EnumerableDataSource<DateTime>(dates);
                datesDataSource.SetXMapping(x => dateAxis.ConvertToDouble(x));

var timesDataSource = new EnumerableDataSource<TimeSpan>(times);
                timesDataSource.SetYMapping(y => y.TotalMinutes);
However, this method doesn't result in the Y axis scaling Days -> Hours -> Minutes etc. (I'm not expecting it to), however the plot is working.

Is there a simple way to do achieve this?

Thanks for your time,
Collin
Oct 20, 2013 at 7:32 AM
Edited Oct 20, 2013 at 7:33 AM
I feel that I should clarify:

On the X-Axis I want dates and times (this is working)
On the Y-Axis I want time (and I would like it to scale from days to hours to minutes to seconds depending on how far I am zoomed in or out on the graph).

Note that the Y-Axis doesn't have a date, only a time (the time it took to run the experiment for my work)

This way when the experiments take a longer time, it is easier to comprehend what it means. It a natural thing to understand 23 hours rather than 1380 minutes when the times are long and say 3 minutes versus .05 hours when the times are short.

I hope this makes sense, it is rather late.

Thanks,
Collin
Oct 21, 2013 at 6:15 AM
Hi

you try some thing like this.

Y axis will be having Custom formatter