IntensityChart

Jul 13, 2009 at 9:59 PM

Hi D3 friends

I find the project Dynamic Data Display is a very interesting one. Since I am new in WPF, I would like to ask you if we can use D3 to develop a intensity chart. In an intensity chart the value pair (X,Y) is represented as a pixel (or a small rectangle) with the value Y converted to a color at the position X.

I have uploaded a pdf file illustrating the intensity chart at http://cid-7d30e9f415751779.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/DynamicDataDisplay/IntensityGraph.pdf

Regards

HDN

Editor
Jul 14, 2009 at 5:47 PM

Hi,

Seems like the right side of that picture is a projection of 3D surface build on some grid. Currently DynamicDataDisplay doesnot support three-dimensions graphics, and time when this support will come is indefinite.

You can try to write your own control for displying such a surface on a WPF - there are rather many tutorials about how to do it.

The left part, where (as I understood) section of 2d surface is drawn, is easier to do - you should only implement a logic which will build 1D data series by interpolating x and y values of surface.

I wish you luck in doing this, if you need some help on how to do it using D3 - you are welcome)

Best regards,

Mikhail.

Jul 14, 2009 at 9:16 PM

Hi

It seems that the document IntensityGraph.pdf, that I made, has caused some misunderstandings.

Assume that we have the array with n pairs: (x1,y1), (x2,y2), (x3,y3), (x4,y4), (x5,y5),..., (xn,yn)

What CharPlotter does is it makes DrawLine() gets called to draw line from (x1,y1) to (x2,y2) and then from (x2,y2) to (x3,y3), ...

What I want to do is to extend CharPlotter so that

for (x1,y1): a small rectangle at (x1,1*PixelHeight,PixelWidth, PixelHeight) gets filled with the color calculated from y1

for (x2,y2): a small rectangle at (x2,2*PixelHeight,PixelWidth, PixelHeight) gets filled with the color calculated from y2